New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Celebrating 10 Years at DNN with a new Job

About 10 years ago in August 2004 I responded to an email that Shaun had sent to registered DotNetNuke users in the 604 Area Code (Greater Vancouver).  DotNetNuke was growing fast and Shaun was looking to hire an ASP.NET developer to work on the Open-Source project, so he could focus on managing the growing Community.

We met in a restaurant in Abbotsford, near where Shaun lives, and after an hour discussion/interview Shaun offered me the position. This weeks announcement of Shaun leaving DNN Corp to move onto new projects marks the end of a 10 year working relationship.  I have never worked for the same employer for as long as 10 years. Shaun gave me my big break.  Without my involvement with DNN it would have been much harder to gain the Industry recognition that I have achieved over the last 10 years as a Microsoft ASP.NET MVP and member of the ASPInsiders and more recently as a Pluralsight Author, and I will be eternally grateful to Shaun for the gamble he made in Aug 2004 in hiring a somewhat unproven ASP.NET developer.

I wish Joe success in taking on the leadership of the Community in his new role.  But Shaun's shoes will be hard to fill and I am honoured to say that Navin has entrusted me with Shaun's architect responsibilities as I will be the new Chief Architect for DNN Corp, - "responsible for overseeing technical design and architectural practices across our product lines, ensuring good coding practices across DNN Engineering, and also responsible for implementing any new technologies we decide to bring into the company".

Although, I have been doing some of this for the last few years as Senior Architect, this resposibility is somewhat daunting.  I'm not sure yet how this will all play out, but I am looking forward to an exciting future at DNN Corp.


Joe Brinkman
Congratulations on the promotion Charles. It is well deserved. I always know to come to you whenever I have any questions on DNN architecture. I look forward to working with you on DNN for the next 10 years.
Joe Brinkman Thursday, August 14, 2014 10:52 AM (link)
Sebastian Leupold
congratulations! I am sure, you will fill in the position perfectly and I am looking forward to work with you on new features.
Sebastian Leupold Thursday, August 14, 2014 11:27 AM (link)
Mitchel Sellers
Congrats Charles!
Mitchel Sellers Thursday, August 14, 2014 11:56 AM (link)
Leigh Pointer
Congratulations Charles, lots of shift in the Corp but not like the balls of Kerplunk. All the best in the new post.
Leigh Pointer Thursday, August 14, 2014 12:51 PM (link)
Ash Prasad
Congrats Charles!
Ash Prasad Thursday, August 14, 2014 1:43 PM (link)
Bob Kruger
This is a well-deserved and definitely earned promotion. I look forward to much great stuff to come!
Bob Kruger Thursday, August 14, 2014 5:38 PM (link)
Daniel Mettler
Congratulations :)! And I'm really pleased to see, that the topic of standardization has such a priority at the Corp.
Daniel Mettler Friday, August 15, 2014 2:36 AM (link)
Ernst Peter Tamminga
Great! Difficult to step in the shoes on someone like Shaun, but I have full confidence that you are fully qualified for the task. Congratulations!
Ernst Peter Tamminga Friday, August 15, 2014 9:33 AM (link)
Jaydeep Bhatt
Congrats !!!
Jaydeep Bhatt Friday, August 15, 2014 6:55 PM (link)

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Davies (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Timo Breumelhof (24)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out