New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Site registration changes in DotNetNuke 7.0

DotNetNuke has always shipped with Public set as it's default portal (site) registration (you can read more about the registration options here).  This was a decision that was inherited from the IBuySpy portal codebase that early versions of DotNetNuke utilized, and whilst it has advantages in enabling users to sign up immediately after installation, there are some drawbacks. We analyzed the last 18 months of security issues and found that approximately 44% of them required the potential hacker to have a valid, authorized user account to start off with. As the install default was “Public” for registration, gaining a valid user was a trivial step.

As many sites ultimately aren't intended for public users (e.g. a personal site may have only one user or a business site may use active directory integration), the decision was made to change the site registration type to "Private" in 7.0.0 to add an additional layer of defense-in-depth. Now, when you perform an installation when you click registration you will see the note on the screen that informs the user of this:




For a user to gain portal access now, the site administrator (or host) has to go to admin->user accounts and authorize that user.

Changing site registration

In some cases sites may prefer the “old” default. If your site wants this then you can change this prior to installation by amending the relevant template file in portals/_default e.g. if you plan to install with the blank template edit Blank Website.template and change the useregistration node e.g. for private it is set as follows:


You can change this value to one of the supported values e.g.

  • 0 – no registration
  • 1 – private registration
  • 2 – public registration (the “old” default)
  • 3 –verified registration

Note: only the English (en-US) templates ship with the product, other templates are downloaded on demand via the update service during installation, so you do not have the option to alter this value during installation. Instead you will have to change it via the UI after installation.

If you’ve already installed the site and want to change the setting, log in as an admin or host and go to admin->site settings, click on the user account settings tab and change it via the user registration radio button.




One Lazy
Hi how can I change the Message on top of registration for DNN 7.0 ?
One Lazy Thursday, January 21, 2016 10:10 PM (link)

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Daniels (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out