New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Winners! DotNetNuke Design Challenge for 2011

We are very happy to announce the winners for this years DotNetNuke Design Challenge!  A field of 16 designers submitted 20 entries which have been reviewed by a panel of qualified judges. This yearscategories include Smartphone (mobile) as well as Traditional and “Zen Garden”.  Additionally, from amongst all the entries, a Community Favorite has been selected by your votes!

All of the skins in the challenge have been contributed to the community by their respective designers and are freely usable under our standard BSD license.


stonecold02stonecold01The Smartphone Ready category challenged designers to create a skin that targeted mobile or smart phone devices.  Designs had to include common best practices such as table-less layouts small screen experience.

Our Smartphone winner is:


By John Velasco
See the DEMO Site
Follow the Forge Project




The Traditional category brought out the best of our designers with 14 amazing entries.  In order to win, designs had to reflect modern web 2.0 standards, implement a vast set of state-of-the-art web technologies such as CSS3, jQuery, carousels and and advanced typography.

Our Traditional winner is:

Business Rainbow

By Armand Datema
See the DEMO Site
Follow the Forge Project


Zen Garden Theme


The Zen Garden Theme was a new category which stretched the way we currently think about DotNetNuke skinning.  A template was provided and designers were invited to submit ONLY 1 CSS file, 1 Javascript file and an images folder.  We hope to expand on these concepts for our next generation of skinning enhancements!

Our Zen Garden Theme winner is:


By Anthony Overkamp
See the DEMO Site


Community Favorite


Our community favorite this year comes from the Traditional category.  In the words of one of our judges, “this is the most fun and visually clever of all the submissions”.  SMB is a playful take on the popular Super Mario Bros franchise (© Nintendo) drawn entirely by hand!

Our Community Favorite winner is:


By Josef Staroba
See the DEMO Site
Follow the Forge Project


Thank you to all of the DotNetNuke Design Challenge participants for their enthusiastic support of DotNetNuke and their contribution to the open source community!

Download all of the skins now!


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Daniels (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out