New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Chicago Day of DotNetNuke Recap, Slides and Code

This is a cross post from my personal blog.

DotNetNuke Blog Module Mobile Application using jQTouch and JQuery It’s 8:15am on Sunday, October 3rd, I am at O’hare International Airport waiting to board my flight and begin the journey back home. As I sit here, I think, in admiration, of the people that made yesterday’s event a success. Their hard work and dedication is inspiring. Trust me folks, organizing such an event is NOT a piece of cake, its tough work. So with that said, I would like to personally thank all the organizers, volunteers, sponsors, and other supporters that contributed to making this event happen.

I had a great time at the event seeing and meeting new faces of the DotNetNuke community, as well as catching up with old friends.  I was also particularly proud and happy to have contributed to the event by having my company sponsor the event as well as speaking.

I have taken a few pictures as well, which I have shared on Inspector IT’s facebook photo gallery; please feel free to check out the photos, tag and comment on them here: – make sure you share this link on Twitter, Facebook etc, for everyone to enjoy!


Slides & Code Download

As promised, I am making available slides and source code for my session, “Smartphone-enable your DNN apps with jQTouch”. To those who attended the session, thank you for coming, and sorry for having to endure listening to me talk for an hour! :-)


The slides for my session, “Smartphone-enable your DotNetNuke Apps with jQTouch & jQuery” session are available for download on my slideshare page.


Source Code

Below is a quick outline/refresher of what the source code is all about, and also for the the benefit of those who did not attend my talk:

  1. The source code is the basic Core Blog Module (04.00.00) which you can also find on, plus the following add-ons:
    • The jQTouch library under the “Mobile” folder.
    • An additional ASPX file (BlogDataService.aspx) which is our “low-fidelity data service that returns blog module objects and collections in JSON format.
      Solution outline
  2. Extract the entire Blog folder to your …/DesktopModules/ folder – yep, that’s all you need.
  3. Open the solution (DotNetNuke.Modules.Blog.VS2008.sln) , then Rebuild.
  4. Navigate to htttp:// and verify that the service is working (You should see the following message: “Please provide an operation”, this is good, it means the service is working, but you just to send it some parameters so it knows what JSON objects to serialize back to you!) . If you already have a blog setup, then navigate to: htttp://, you should see something similar to this display in your browser (if you haven’t setup your blog yet, then you can run this step after you have you do so as outlined in the next step):
     Blog Module JSON Data Service
  5. Setup a blog, and add some posts.
  6. Download the MobiOne Design Center here: 
  7. Now open up the MobiOne emulator (or an HTML5 compatible browser) and navigate to the following page: htttp://

Download Source Code

Need help or have Questions?

The last slide on my PowerPoint deck offers quite a few resources that you can use to get your mobile development going, but I’d also be happy to answer any questions related to this session, slides, and code. Feel free to let me know how I can help using the comments section below.

This is a cross post from my personal blog.


Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Davies (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out