New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Continuous Integration Scripts

One of my main tasks working at the United Nation and the European Commission Joint Research Centre was to get all developers on the same page with developing in DotNetNuke.  This is a difficult task in itself as everybody has their own flavour.  So the best way to tackle this was to introduce the DotNetNuke templates.  I used the ones from Chris Hammond on CodePlex both C# and VB to do this.  They ran straight out of the box and with some minor customisations we are all on the same page, until!  Moving over to Visual Studio 2010 an issue arose which would not build the package.

The main difference, is that in the Visual Studio 2010 version, the 42353,42354,42355 value has been added; Inside the IDE, this manifests itself as the following setting in the Project Properties | Compile section as:

"Function returning intrinsic value type without return value" = None

This isn't a problem when building code inside Visual Studio 2010, but when trying to build the code through our continuous integration scripts, it fails with the following errors:

[msbuild] vbc : Command line error BC2026: warning number '42353' for the option 'nowarn' is either not configurable or not valid

[msbuild] vbc : Command line error BC2026: warning number '42354' for the option 'nowarn' is either not configurable or not valid

[msbuild] vbc : Command line error BC2026: warning number '42355' for the option 'nowarn' is either not configurable or not valid

Now you could just edit *.*proj project file and delete all occurrences of 42353,42354,42355 which isn’t the sweetest of options.

This solution is more simple than I first thought, but when it is right in front of you nose it is not that obvious. 

As we are using visual studio 2010  we have you changed the build script file in the template to use the 4.0 version of MSBuild?

To fix this, follow Chris’s blog Using and Customizing a C# Module Development Template and add this step.

Open up the in a text editor and locate the line (line 45)

v3.5\msbuild.exe" failonerror="true">

and change to

v4.0.30319\msbuild.exe" failonerror="true">

Save the file and repackage.The templates run great and I will be doing a few more customisations to meet our development needs.

On further reflection, adding a few more configuration items to the template to create a more robust solution.

  • In the prj file remove the version number of the DotNetNuke Reference.  This is load the DotNetNuke.dll from the defined folder.
  • Also in the prj file at the add the framework tag v3.5













There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Daniels (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out