DNN Community Blog

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.


Previewing Prompt in DNN/Evoq 9.2.0

Background

Kelly Ford and Peter Donker came up with the concept of DNN Prompt earlier this year. Prompt – as the name suggests is a way to manage DNN through a command-prompt interface. 

Kelly and Peter started out by building prototypes, sharing code, blogging, and presenting Prompt at conferences. They got good feedback. When Prompt matured a bit, they contacted DNN Corp. to include Prompt into the Platform. We liked the idea, the feedback and the traction in the community, and came up with a mutually agreeable vision and integration plan. 

Since their initial submission of the code-base to us, we have made several revisions. We are very excited to announce Prompt’s preview via our nightly builds. We also want to thank Clint Patterson and David Poindexter for helping Kelly and Peter.

More details about the initial work can be found at their blog.

How to access

Login as Host > Persona Bar > Setting (gear icon) > Prompt

Help

Type help and press enter to get help. It will show the list of commands. Each command can be clicked to get more details.

Try the first command

Type list-users and press enter to get list of users.

Pagination

Pagination is built-in in the prompt. You can press any key to load the next page or CTRL + X to end.

Clearing the console

Type cls and press enter to clear the prompt console.

Security

Available to SuperUsers only

Auditing

Each and every prompt command executed is logged into the Admin logs. The log type is Prompt Alert.

Availability

Currently available in preview, will ship with the upcoming release (DNN / Evoq 9.2)

Download

Download from nightly builds.

Future Prompt Blog Series

1. Surfacing Prompt via stand-alone DLL
2. Surfacing Prompt via a DNN module

Extensibility

DNN Prompt is extensible - obviously! We have two samples at our public github repo. You can get more details about them via the above two blogs.

Implementation Details

The work on this project was done on this epic on Jira.

Uninstalling

Prompt is implemented as any standard DNN extension, and can be uninstalled by going to Persona Bar > Settings (gear icon) > Extensions > Persona Bar in drop down > click on the trash icon next to Dnn.PersonaBar.Prompt.

Comments

David Poindexter
Fantastic Ash! Looking good! I guess it is time for me to start putting some focus on nvQuickAdmin to get prepped for the upcoming official release, eh? :)
David Poindexter Wednesday, November 1, 2017 1:21 AM (link)
Ash Prasad
@David - love the eh :). And yep, definitely need to update on nvQuickAdmin
Ash Prasad Wednesday, November 1, 2017 3:35 AM (link)
Roman Yagodin
I wonder, could we run those commands also from PowerShell?
Roman Yagodin Wednesday, November 1, 2017 7:18 AM (link)
Kurt Wilbies
Great! Looking good. When is the official release of 9.2 (I assume I now can download a preview of DNN9.2). George said in one of his comments, 7 weeks ago, that 9.2 will be release within 6 weeks or 2 months max. So, can inform us about the release dates. We need to plan.
Kurt Wilbies Wednesday, November 1, 2017 8:05 AM (link)
Daniel Mettler
I really love it.
for me the question of PowerShell compatibility also comes up. Can we run this from powershell, or run powershell from prompt?
Daniel Mettler Thursday, November 2, 2017 6:54 AM (link)
Andrew Hoefling
After a brief discussion with several people on twitter about this, we created a GitHub repo to track discussions regarding a PowerShell Module. Right now we are starting to spec it out, feel free to create issues or PRs based on what you would like.

https://github.com/ahoefling/dnn-powershell
Andrew Hoefling Thursday, November 2, 2017 2:05 PM (link)
Ash Prasad
Folks we are looking in Q1 2018 for 9.2. Please note that the dates are subject to change.
PowerShell - There is no integration.
Ash Prasad Thursday, November 2, 2017 7:18 PM (link)
Ash Prasad
Keep us posted @Andrew on your progress on the powershell side.. it'll be a great add-on
Ash Prasad Thursday, November 2, 2017 7:19 PM (link)

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.

NewsArchives


Aderson Oliveira (15)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (32)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (209)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clinton Patterson (36)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (151)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (4)
David Rodriguez (3)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (74)
Geoff Barlow (10)
George Alatrash (6)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matthias Schlomann (15)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (28)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Peter Donker (53)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott S (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Timo Breumelhof (24)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (2)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (165)
William Severance (5)

Content Layout

Subscribe to DNN Digest

DNN Digest is our monthly email newsletter. It highlights news and content from around the DNN ecosystem, such as new modules and themes, messages from leadership, blog posts and notable tweets. Keep your finger on the pulse of the ecosystem by subscribing.  


Copyright 2017 by DNN Corp Terms of Use Privacy
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out