New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

How To Create a Custom Buttons in a Toolbar

Sometimes you want to provide custom features in a 2sxc-app, but visualize them just like a 2sxc-toolbar. Here's how:

Understanding Buttons

A 2sxc button in a toolbar is basically a configuration like 

  command: {
    action: "custom",
    customCode: 'alert("custom button!")', 
    params: { id: 57 }
  icon: "...",
  title: "...",
  // etc.

which is parsed by getButton(...) to generate some HTML. The full specs of this are documented in the 2sxc wiki about buttons

To create your own custom button, you need two things

  1. a button configuration like shown above
  2. your JavaScript function which should be called

You can then use your custom config in a standalone button using the ...manage.getButton(...) command, or build it into a larger configuration with many buttons. 

Understanding Custom Code

The custom code is run when the button is clicked, and it will have 3 variables predefined for you: 

  1. settings - the command and parameters which were given into the button when clicked and also contains the params that you specified when creating the button
  2. event - the click-event 
  3. sxc - the sxc-controller of the current module, which knows what module you are on, and has a .manage property to do other things. You can read about it in the wiki here.

Code Example with 2 custom buttons and 2 standard buttons

    <div class="sc-element">
        custom js action
        <ul class="sc-menu" data-toolbar='{"groups": [
            { "buttons": [
                    "command": { 
                        "action": "custom", 
                        "customCode": "alert(\"custom button!\")"
                    "icon": "icon-sxc-code", 
                    "title": "my custom code"
                    "command": {
                        "action": "custom", 
                        "customCode": "someCustomAction(settings, event, sxc);"
                    "icon": "icon-sxc-code", 
                    "title": "my custom code"
            ]}, {
                "buttons": "layout,more"
        ], "debug": true}'></ul>

      Discover More

      If you want to know more, best read about custom buttons in the 2sxc wiki or play around with the tutorial app.

      Love from Switzerland,

      Daniel Mettler grew up in the jungles of Indonesia and is founder and CEO of 2sic internet solutions in Switzerland and Liechtenstein, an 20-head web specialist with over 800 DNN projects since 1999. He is also chief architect of 2sxc (see forge), an open source module for creating attractive content and DNN Apps.

      Read more posts by Daniel Mettler


      Fuji Nguyen
      Thank you for step by step instructions. Questions: is it possible to debug code line by line? Can Visual Studio code be used to support development 2sxc app and content?
      Fuji Nguyen Thursday, November 17, 2016 8:06 AM (link)
      Daniel Mettler
      @fuji yes this works. you can use VS to run/debug the Razor code. for JS I personally prefer using chrome+f12 (I wrote a post about that) but AFAIK you could also use VS. I think VS code can even attach to chrome etc. to debug.
      Daniel Mettler Thursday, November 24, 2016 8:10 AM (link)

      Comment Form

      Only registered users may post comments.


      Aderson Oliveira (22)
      Alec Whittington (11)
      Alessandra Daniels (3)
      Alex Shirley (10)
      Andrew Hoefling (3)
      Andrew Nurse (30)
      Andy Tryba (1)
      Anthony Glenwright (5)
      Antonio Chagoury (28)
      Ash Prasad (37)
      Ben Schmidt (1)
      Benjamin Hermann (25)
      Benoit Sarton (9)
      Beth Firebaugh (12)
      Bill Walker (36)
      Bob Kruger (5)
      Bogdan Litescu (1)
      Brian Dukes (2)
      Brice Snow (1)
      Bruce Chapman (20)
      Bryan Andrews (1)
      cathal connolly (55)
      Charles Nurse (163)
      Chris Hammond (213)
      Chris Paterra (55)
      Clint Patterson (108)
      Cuong Dang (21)
      Daniel Bartholomew (2)
      Daniel Mettler (181)
      Daniel Valadas (48)
      Dave Buckner (2)
      David Poindexter (12)
      David Rodriguez (3)
      Dennis Shiao (1)
      Doug Howell (11)
      Erik van Ballegoij (30)
      Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
      Francisco Perez Andres (17)
      Geoff Barlow (12)
      George Alatrash (12)
      Gifford Watkins (3)
      Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
      Ian Robinson (7)
      Israel Martinez (17)
      Jan Blomquist (2)
      Jan Jonas (3)
      Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
      Jenni Merrifield (6)
      Joe Brinkman (274)
      John Mitchell (1)
      Jon Henning (14)
      Jonathan Sheely (4)
      Jordan Coopersmith (1)
      Joseph Craig (2)
      Kan Ma (1)
      Keivan Beigi (3)
      Kelly Ford (4)
      Ken Grierson (10)
      Kevin Schreiner (6)
      Leigh Pointer (31)
      Lorraine Young (60)
      Malik Khan (1)
      Matt Rutledge (2)
      Matthias Schlomann (16)
      Mauricio Márquez (5)
      Michael Doxsey (7)
      Michael Tobisch (3)
      Michael Washington (202)
      Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
      Mike Horton (19)
      Mitchel Sellers (40)
      Nathan Rover (3)
      Navin V Nagiah (14)
      Néstor Sánchez (31)
      Nik Kalyani (14)
      Oliver Hine (1)
      Patricio F. Salinas (1)
      Patrick Ryan (1)
      Peter Donker (54)
      Philip Beadle (135)
      Philipp Becker (4)
      Richard Dumas (22)
      Robert J Collins (5)
      Roger Selwyn (8)
      Ruben Lopez (1)
      Ryan Martinez (1)
      Sacha Trauwaen (1)
      Salar Golestanian (4)
      Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
      Scott McCulloch (1)
      Scott Schlesier (11)
      Scott Wilkinson (3)
      Scott Willhite (97)
      Sebastian Leupold (80)
      Shaun Walker (237)
      Shawn Mehaffie (17)
      Stefan Cullmann (12)
      Stefan Kamphuis (12)
      Steve Fabian (31)
      Steven Fisher (1)
      Tony Henrich (3)
      Torsten Weggen (3)
      Tycho de Waard (4)
      Vicenç Masanas (27)
      Vincent Nguyen (3)
      Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
      Will Morgenweck (40)
      Will Strohl (180)
      William Severance (5)
      What is Liquid Content?
      Find Out
      What is Liquid Content?
      Find Out
      What is Liquid Content?
      Find Out