New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

ASp.Net 2.0 MMC Snap-In Issue

If you install .Net 2.0 you should get another tab on the IIS management console called ASP.Net but sometime that is not the case and you do not have this tab added to the IIS Managements Console.  The tab allows you to edit application settings through IIS (instead of updating the web.config directly) and if you have multiple versions of .Net installed it also allow you to change the version of .Net that the site is running under.  So it is a definate problem if this tab does not show up.  In some instances you do not see this tab.  It appears that there are some keys created initially with incorrect permissions (Administrators has read-only access) and then then some of the key values are not set correctly, therefore the IIS MMC snap-in is not updated. Basically in all the situations I have seen this happen the setting for the keys that are incorrect are set to the value of "Path" instead of the real physical path and that is why the .Net 2.0 MMC snap-in does not show up.Below is how to avoid / fix this issue


To avoid this issue (this has not been tested):

  1. Make sure that Everyone has full control of the following keys if they exist before you install .Net 2.0.  In all the cases I saw these keys did not exist before .Net 2.0 was installed so that is why this has never been tested.  There is a good chance this scenerio never does happen.



To fix after .Net 2.0 has been installed:

  1.  Make sure that Everyone has full control of the following keys.
  • HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F8}
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F
  1. Set the following keys (ASPTAB_HCR.reg).
    • HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F8}2.0\0\win32=C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\AspNetMmcExt.tlb
    • HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F8}\2.0\HELPDIR=C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.5072
  1. Make sure the following keys are also update.  When you change the keys in the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT the changes should automatically be seen in the keys below if not then update them (ASPTAB_HML.reg).
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F8}\2.0\0\win32=C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\AspNetMmcExt.tlb
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Classes\TypeLib\{A4CA8810-6E46-36FF-A048-B7FD564742F8}\2.0\HELPDIR=C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.5072
** The directory path may be different depending on your installlation.

Hope this helps someone.


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Davies (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Timo Breumelhof (24)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out