New Community Website

Ordinarily, you'd be at the right spot, but we've recently launched a brand new community website... For the community, by the community.

Yay... Take Me to the Community!

The Community Blog is a personal opinion of community members and by no means the official standpoint of DNN Corp or DNN Platform. This is a place to express personal thoughts about DNNPlatform, the community and its ecosystem. Do you have useful information that you would like to share with the DNN Community in a featured article or blog? If so, please contact .

The use of the Community Blog is covered by our Community Blog Guidelines - please read before commenting or posting.

Just let ASP.Net handle it

DotNetNuke 5.6.0 introduced a new feature that automatically creates Portal Aliases as they are needed.  This feature is great for people who are developing a new site, or who are changing the domain of their site.  Unfortunately there were some unintended consequences that came with this new feature.  The new Automatic Portal Alias feature can interfere with custom code that is not in the traditional locations for module content.

Prior to 5.6.0 if no matching Portal Alias could be located and the request was not for Default.aspx, DotNetNuke would stop trying to process the request and just “let ASP.Net handle it”.  With the introduction of the Automatic Portal Alias feature in 5.6.0 DotNetNuke no longer passed unrecognized requests to ASP.Net, but rather tried to create a valid Portal Alias for them.  This change meant that various bits of custom code that are deployed in the web site, but that DotNetNuke is not explicitly aware of stopped working.

DotNetNuke 5.6.2 fixes this problem by restoring the “let ASP.Net handle it” behaviour.  Because the “let ASP.Net handle it” behaviour and automatic portal alias creation disagree about what to do with an unrecognized request, the Automatic Portal Alias creation must be disabled to restore the “let ASP.Net handle it” behaviour.  There is a check box in the Portal Alias section of Site Settings to Enable/Disable Automatic Portal Aliases.  Automatic Portal Alias creation is always disabled on a multiple portal installation.

UrlRewriter also avoids processing certain requests and hands them directly to ASP.Net for completion out side of DotNetNuke.  Previously these requests were all hard coded, 5.6.2 introduces the OmitFromRewriteProcessing host setting.  When the end of the path portion of the URL (path only not query parameters etc.) matches one of the strings in this list then DotNetNuke will also “let ASP.Net handle it”.  Currently this feature is meant for use by developers, there is no UI available for this setting, it can only be accessed by the Host Settings API methods.


Comment Form

Only registered users may post comments.


Aderson Oliveira (22)
Alec Whittington (11)
Alessandra Davies (3)
Alex Shirley (10)
Andrew Hoefling (3)
Andrew Nurse (30)
Andy Tryba (1)
Anthony Glenwright (5)
Antonio Chagoury (28)
Ash Prasad (37)
Ben Schmidt (1)
Benjamin Hermann (25)
Benoit Sarton (9)
Beth Firebaugh (12)
Bill Walker (36)
Bob Kruger (5)
Bogdan Litescu (1)
Brian Dukes (2)
Brice Snow (1)
Bruce Chapman (20)
Bryan Andrews (1)
cathal connolly (55)
Charles Nurse (163)
Chris Hammond (213)
Chris Paterra (55)
Clint Patterson (108)
Cuong Dang (21)
Daniel Bartholomew (2)
Daniel Mettler (181)
Daniel Valadas (48)
Dave Buckner (2)
David Poindexter (12)
David Rodriguez (3)
Dennis Shiao (1)
Doug Howell (11)
Erik van Ballegoij (30)
Ernst Peter Tamminga (80)
Francisco Perez Andres (17)
Geoff Barlow (12)
George Alatrash (12)
Gifford Watkins (3)
Gilles Le Pigocher (3)
Ian Robinson (7)
Israel Martinez (17)
Jan Blomquist (2)
Jan Jonas (3)
Jaspreet Bhatia (1)
Jenni Merrifield (6)
Joe Brinkman (274)
John Mitchell (1)
Jon Henning (14)
Jonathan Sheely (4)
Jordan Coopersmith (1)
Joseph Craig (2)
Kan Ma (1)
Keivan Beigi (3)
Kelly Ford (4)
Ken Grierson (10)
Kevin Schreiner (6)
Leigh Pointer (31)
Lorraine Young (60)
Malik Khan (1)
Matt Rutledge (2)
Matthias Schlomann (16)
Mauricio Márquez (5)
Michael Doxsey (7)
Michael Tobisch (3)
Michael Washington (202)
Miguel Gatmaytan (3)
Mike Horton (19)
Mitchel Sellers (40)
Nathan Rover (3)
Navin V Nagiah (14)
Néstor Sánchez (31)
Nik Kalyani (14)
Oliver Hine (1)
Patricio F. Salinas (1)
Patrick Ryan (1)
Peter Donker (54)
Philip Beadle (135)
Philipp Becker (4)
Richard Dumas (22)
Robert J Collins (5)
Roger Selwyn (8)
Ruben Lopez (1)
Ryan Martinez (1)
Sacha Trauwaen (1)
Salar Golestanian (4)
Sanjay Mehrotra (9)
Scott McCulloch (1)
Scott Schlesier (11)
Scott Wilkinson (3)
Scott Willhite (97)
Sebastian Leupold (80)
Shaun Walker (237)
Shawn Mehaffie (17)
Stefan Cullmann (12)
Stefan Kamphuis (12)
Steve Fabian (31)
Steven Fisher (1)
Timo Breumelhof (24)
Tony Henrich (3)
Torsten Weggen (3)
Tycho de Waard (4)
Vicenç Masanas (27)
Vincent Nguyen (3)
Vitaly Kozadayev (6)
Will Morgenweck (40)
Will Strohl (180)
William Severance (5)
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out