Welcome to the DNN Community Forums, your preferred source of online community support for all things related to DNN.
In order to participate you must be a registered DNNizen

HomeHomeUsing DNN Platf...Using DNN Platf...Administration ...Administration ...Removing residual user account detailsRemoving residual user account details
Previous
 
Next
New Post
1/19/2016 11:50 PM
 

I have a problem with a couple of old user accounts.

We setup our security groups via Active Directory. Recently, some staff have left and had been removed from AD (and the security groups there). I had some remaining staff saying when they were creating events in a calendar, and staff responded, they were getting bounce back emails from the addresses of the staff that had left. All three 'old' staff still had accounts in DNN (but not in AD as they were removed earlier), so I deleted them. However, what I didn't realize was that it had left them listed in the DNN security groups. I tried deleting them from there, but I can't as the actual user account in DNN is no longer there, so I get an error.

I did read that DNN has a 'soft' delete to restore accounts, but because these accounts come from AD, they are not listed in the 'Users' table (only standard DNN accounts are there - basically our admin accounts for the site, but no AD user accounts). I also can't find a reference to them or other users in the same security groups.

Really al I want to do is delete any reference to these accounts from the Security Groups, whether that be a straight delete from a security group table, or whether I reinstate the DNN accounts and then delete from the groups.

I'm guessing if I reinstate in AD it won't be a match anymore (SID)? Or does it just use the actual user name to match?

Thoughts?

 
New Post
1/20/2016 7:34 AM
 

Liz,

What about setting an "end" date in the role membership, e.g. the day they left, or yesterday?

Happy DNNing!
Michael

 


Michael Tobisch
DNN★MVP
dnn-Connect.org - The most vibrant community around the DNN-platform
 
New Post
1/22/2016 2:35 PM
 

I had the same issue the other day.  Deleted a user then tried to remove the deleted user.  Upon doing the remove deleted user the user still remained.  Tried to edit the user but it said the user did not exist.  But a day later it was gone.  So in short, how long ago did this happen?

 
Previous
 
Next
HomeHomeUsing DNN Platf...Using DNN Platf...Administration ...Administration ...Removing residual user account detailsRemoving residual user account details


These Forums are dedicated to discussion of DNN Platform and Evoq Solutions.

For the benefit of the community and to protect the integrity of the ecosystem, please observe the following posting guidelines:

  1. No Advertising. This includes promotion of commercial and non-commercial products or services which are not directly related to DNN.
  2. No vendor trolling / poaching. If someone posts about a vendor issue, allow the vendor or other customers to respond. Any post that looks like trolling / poaching will be removed.
  3. Discussion or promotion of DNN Platform product releases under a different brand name are strictly prohibited.
  4. No Flaming or Trolling.
  5. No Profanity, Racism, or Prejudice.
  6. Site Moderators have the final word on approving / removing a thread or post or comment.
  7. English language posting only, please.

Content Layout

Subscribe to DNN Digest

DNN Digest is our monthly email newsletter. It highlights news and content from around the DNN ecosystem, such as new modules and themes, messages from leadership, blog posts and notable tweets. Keep your finger on the pulse of the ecosystem by subscribing.  


Copyright 2017 by DNN Corp Terms of Use Privacy
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out
What is Liquid Content?
Find Out