Learn More





Welcome to the DNN Community Forums, your preferred source of online community support for all things related to DNN.
In order to participate you must be a registered DNNizen

HomeHomeUsing DNN Platf...Using DNN Platf...Administration ...Administration ...Verified RegistrationVerified Registration
New Post
10/3/2013 11:24 AM

Does anyone know why starting from DNN 6.2 the verified registration process has changed?

In previous releases, after registering a new user would get an email with the validate link and an on-screen message (read from the resx file with key VerifiedConfirmationMessage).

From 6.2, the user gets the validation link by email and it is automatically logged in.

Why a "to be validated" user should be automatically logged in? I think is not compliant with the verification process.

As a side effect the just registered and not yet validated user is shown the awfull and confusing message "You are using an unverified account. Please verify your account by clicking on the link contained in the verification email we've already sent to you."

Is this a bug introduced from version 6.2? and if so where should I report to?

Thanks for any feedback on this matter.


New Post
10/3/2013 4:15 PM
it was a change to introduce the concept of "unverified user" i.e. a user who could log in, but was not fully verified yet i.e. modules could choose to allow actions to this type of user if they want. Note: a user must verifiy to get moved into the "registered users" role (

Buy the new Professional DNN7: Open Source .NET CMS Platform book Amazon US
New Post
10/3/2013 5:59 PM
Some of the bugs introduced with new registration modes have been fixed in subsequent versions, you should upgrade to latest DNN 7 version.
You might need to modify some configuration around registration as well.

Cheers from Germany,
Sebastian Leupold (Microsoft MVP)

dnnWerk - The DotNetNuke Experts   German Spoken DotNetNuke User Group   European Network of DotNetNuke Professionals

Speed up your DNN Websites with TurboDNN
New Post
10/3/2013 9:39 PM

Thank you for your reply Cathal.

I see the point however if one choses to verify a user prior to give access to any of the to any reserved area (i.e. the email must be a valid and existing one)  no module should be allowed to bypass this decision. Having said so it would be nice to have a setting to chose from a restrictive (no auto login after registration) and a loose verified registration. Cheers Gaspare


New Post
10/3/2013 9:48 PM

Hi Leopold is not really a bug but a breaking change with previous versions of DNN. I have also cheked in latest version but the modified code is still there as intended. As I said it woukd be nice to be allowed to chose between a restrictive and a loose verified registration process. Infact this new feature breaks logic when upgrading a site that has been thete for years an users and administrators expect a specific behaviour. Cheers Gaspare


HomeHomeUsing DNN Platf...Using DNN Platf...Administration ...Administration ...Verified RegistrationVerified Registration

These Forums are dedicated to discussion of DNN Platform and Evoq Solutions.

For the benefit of the community and to protect the integrity of the ecosystem, please observe the following posting guidelines:

  1. No Advertising. This includes promotion of commercial and non-commercial products or services which are not directly related to DNN.
  2. No vendor trolling / poaching. If someone posts about a vendor issue, allow the vendor or other customers to respond. Any post that looks like trolling / poaching will be removed.
  3. Discussion or promotion of DNN Platform product releases under a different brand name are strictly prohibited.
  4. No Flaming or Trolling.
  5. No Profanity, Racism, or Prejudice.
  6. Site Moderators have the final word on approving / removing a thread or post or comment.
  7. English language posting only, please.
Try Evoq
For Free
Start Free Trial
a Demo
See Evoq Live
Need More Information?