This enhancement is intended to ensure that users do not reuse old passwords e.g. change from “password1” to “password2”. The number of previously used passwords are a configuration setting.
If a user attempts to re-use a password that is stored in the history an error will show:
Note: Password history entries are only added when a user changes their password (via either a change password or reset password function), and not when the user is initially created.