When the "Display Profile Visibility" option under site settings is unchecked, the selected defaults need to be automatically applied to all site users. New and pre-existing.
Right now it doesn't work that way. Thus causing headaches having to turn the switch on and modify each pre-existing user account individually before turning the switch off. It needs to be streamlined.